Posted by: aliaskaadventures | November 9, 2012

After All This Time

I should’ve known this would happen–I’ve never been a very strong journaler, and I always hit dry spells. It’s not for lack of things to say, it’s just for lack of the discipline to write them down.

The last couple months have been a whirlwind. I’m very proud of the cross-country runners, as they gave it their best shot. I had to miss their final two meets due to a business trip. When they called me before their regional race, I honestly teared up. Yep, I’m a sap. When I got back into town, a middle school team had magically formulated, and the athletic director asked me to coach it. The season was very short, and we only had one meet, but they did fantastic! Our lead boy placed fifth, and the lead girl placed sixth. They all ran the whole race without stopping (except one, who fell and was unable to finish), which was a huge improvement over their first practice with me a week before.

After that, I had another month-long business trip. I just arrived back in Metlakatla on Monday evening, and I’m trying to get settled into the rhythm of the town again. I forget that businesses close early, and I tried to pay our internet bill at 4:30 today, only to learn that the office closes at 4:00. I brought the cats this time, and I remembered to pack/order litter boxes and litter, but I forgot to bring a litter scoop. Of course, it’s impossible to buy one on the island, so we’ll be making do with a slotted spoon. The whole experience of living in a remote area is an exercise in patience and resourcefulness. It’s also a reminder to slow down, breathe, and be grateful for what you have.

The house will not fall apart if you can’t scoop litter. If I learn nothing else in my time here, I have learned this.

Leave a Reply

Categories

